For more on groups and upcoming events, check our Events Page.
Gender Spectrum hosts online groups for pre-teens, teens, parents, caregivers, and other family members. These groups provide participants the opportunity to connect with others, share their experience, and feel the comfort of a supportive community. All groups are hosted online, unless noted otherwise. Please view the information to learn more and sign up for these groups.

Pre-Teens and Teens

Our groups for teens and pre-teens are safe spaces where you can connect, find community and meet other young people. Watch our video below to learn more about how our groups work and hear from young people who have participated in our groups.

Teen Groups (Ages 13-19) (Learn More)

Pre-Teen Group (Ages 11 and 12) (Learn More)

Parents and Family

(Learn More)

National Parent Support Group

Topic-based Discussion Groups for Parents and Other Adult Family Members

Upcoming groups:

    • Grandparents Group: A Discussion Group for Grandparents of Gender Diverse Children
    • Asian-Pacific Islander (API) Parents, Relatives and Caregivers Raising Gender Diverse Children and Teens

Learn more

Past groups have included:

  • Neurodivergence and Gender: A Discussion Group for Parents Raising Neurodivergent Gender Diverse Youth
  • Navigating Gender and Race: A Discussion Group for Parents of Color Raising a Gender Diverse Child
  • Finding/Creating Gender Inclusive Camps for Your Child
  • Creating Trust with Your Teen
  • Adoption and Your Gender Diverse Child
  • Masculinity and Femininity
  • Self Care for Parents and Caregivers
  • Navigating Your Child’s Gender and Your Christian Faith
  • Preparing for the Holidays
  • International Discussion Group for Parents/Caregivers of Gender Diverse Children and Teens

Dads Group

Grupo de padres en Español (Spanish Language Parent Support Group)

Bay Area Parent Support Group

Group Facilitators

Monthly Facilitator Support Group

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Teens 13-19 Discussion Groups

Our teen discussion groups are brought to you by Gender Spectrum and The Happy Hippie Foundation for youth ages 13-19.  Are you looking to meet other youth navigating gender and have a space to hangout? Once a week for six weeks, we focus on the intersection of gender and specific topics like: the holidays, school, family, friendship and much more. These groups are a great way to meet other young people, share experiences, ask questions and just hangout together.  You can join with video, audio, or even just call in!

Sign up for our Teen Group here

Upcoming Dates:

Tuesday 2/18  5pm PST / 8pm EST
Tuesday 2/25  5pm PST / 8pm EST
Tuesday 3/3    5pm PST / 8pm EST
Tuesday 3/10  5pm PST / 8pm EST
Tuesday 3/17   5pm PST / 8pm EST
Tuesday 3/24   5pm PST / 8pm EST

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Pre-Teen Group 11-12 Discussion Group

Join our online pre-teen group to meet other pre-teens navigating gender! All groups are facilitated by trans, Non-binary and gender expansive staff or volunteers.

“This is a great way to give a child community while still in the low-pressure environment of their own home, and they can choose to be as verbal or as quiet as they feel comfortable with. We can’t wait for the next series.” (Parent of youth participant)

Our previous groups were a blast! We had discussions about tv shows, ways people express their gender, experiences at school, and more. A couple of people introduced us to their pets on the video chat! If you’re looking for a way to talk with other kids your age about your life and things you like– this is the group for you.

This group will take place online and you can join through video, audio or chat. It’s a really fun way to share and meet others. We look forward to hanging out with you!

Sign up for our Pre-Teen group here

Upcoming Dates: check back soon!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Groups for Parents and Family


National Parent Support Group

Click here to find out more and receive information to join this group

The National Parent Support Group is a live online/call-in peer group where parents can support each other and find helpful information on their journey of raising Transgender, non-binary or otherwise Gender-expansive children and teens. It is facilitated by Gender Spectrum staff. You can join occasionally, or regularly, as you desire. There are options for you to participate either by phone or by video online.

Between the monthly support group meetings, parents can continue the conversation on the Parents and Primary Caregivers Group on the Lounge, Gender Spectrum’s online community. If you are a parent joining the Lounge, you will automatically become a member of this Lounge group. If you have any questions or need help joining the group, you can email Pam Wool at [email protected].

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Topic-based Discussion Groups for Parents and Other Adult Family Members

Grandparents Group: A Discussion Group for Grandparents of Gender Diverse Children and Teens

Friday, April 3rd, 11:15 am PT (12:15 pm MT/1:15 pm CT/2:15 pm ET)
Friday, April 10th, 11:15 am PT (12:15 pm MT/1:15 pm CT/2:15 pm ET)
Friday, April 17th, 11:15 am PT (12:15 pm MT/1:15 pm CT/2:15 pm ET)
Friday, April 24th, 11:15 am PT (12:15 pm MT/1:15 pm CT/2:15 pm ET)

Sign up for the Grandparents Group here

 

Asian-Pacific Islander (API) Parents, Relatives and Caregivers Raising Gender Diverse Children and Teens

Join our online discussion group specifically for API parents and  raising gender diverse kids. This will be a space for API parents, other close relatives, and caregivers; if you are a White parent raising an API child, there will be a different discussion group for you in the near future. This online discussion group is a safe space to discuss your feelings and experiences related to issues of raising a child who is exploring their gender in an API family/community. This group is co-sponsored by Gender Spectrum and API Rainbow Parents of PFLAG NYC. The group will be facilitated by LoAn Nguyen of PFLAG NYC.

Wednesday, March 11th, 9:00 am PT (10:00am MT/11:00 am CT/12:00 pm ET)
Wednesday, March 18th, 9:00 am PT (10:00am MT/11:00 am CT/12:00 pm ET)
Wednesday, March 25th, 9:00 am PT (10:00am MT/11:00 am CT/12:00 pm ET)
Wednesday, April 1st, 9:00 am PT (10:00am MT/11:00 am CT/12:00 pm ET)

Sign up for the API Group here

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Dads Group

Click here to find out more and receive information to join this group

If you are a father to a transgender, non-binary, or otherwise gender-expansive child, this group is for you. The Dads Group is an online/call-in group where dads can share questions and experiences. There is also an affiliated Dads Group in the Lounge, where you can connect with other dads in writing. If you have any questions or need help joining the group, you can email Pam Wool at [email protected].

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Grupo de padres en Español (Spanish Language Parent Support Group)

Si desea unirse al grupo de apoyo mediante llamada mensual, o si tiene alguna pregunta, por favor contáctenos a [email protected].

Este grupo en el “Lounge”, de la comunidad en línea de Gender Spectrum, será de gran ayuda para adultos de habla hispana y que se encuentran lidiando con el constante desarrollo de la identidad de género de un menor o adolescente en sus vidas.

Adicionalmente al grupo del Lounge, en el cual los padres pueden conocer a otros padres por medio de mensajes que escriban en línea, este grupo también cuenta con la posibilidad de unirse al grupo de apoyo vía telefónica de Gender Spectrum el cual, se lleva a cabo mediante una conferencia telefónica en español una vez al mes. Las instrucciones de cómo unirse a las llamadas podrán encontrarlas en el Grupo Lounge para padres en español.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Bay Area Parent Support Group

Click here to find out more and receive information to join this group

This in-person peer support group is a place where parents can support each other and find helpful information on their journey of raising transgender, non-binary or other gender-expansive children and teens. The group meets one evening a month in Emeryville, CA. There is also a corresponding group on the Lounge for the Bay Area Parent Support Group to continue the conversation between in-person meetings.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Groups for Facilitators

Facilitators Support Group

Please register here to join

Meets on the first Thursday of every month from 11:00 am to 12:00 pm PT/2:00 pm to 3:00 pm ET. The discussion is for anyone who runs a group that serves youth and/or families that wants to learn about issues related to gender and youth. Understandings of gender are changing rapidly which naturally leads to lots of questions! This support group for facilitators is a space where you can ask any and all questions about gender that you have, or that arise in your group, in a confidential setting. You can submit questions anonymously ahead of time, or raise your question during the group meeting. This facilitator support group is a free monthly online/call-in group where we will discuss gender-related issues, answer questions, and provide support to each other in our role as facilitators. It’s a great opportunity to connect with other group leaders to share ideas and experiences. We also have a group for facilitators in the Lounge (our online community) which you can join here.